Posts Tagged 'ACORN'

Vote-by-Vote on ACORN

Vote-by-Vote on ACORN

From Jeff Schreiber, excellent blog America’s right

Jeff is a reformed liberal democrat with nearly a decade on the wagon, Jeff established America’s Right in January 2008 in hopes to advance the conservative message and articulate the merits of conservatism to any who would listen.

The first vote came on Tuesday, when the Senate voted 83-7 to suspend funding to ACORN in Department of Housing and Urban Development and Department of Transportation appropriations bill. Seven senators voted in favor of continuing to fund ACORN, an organization already being investigated in more than a dozen states for voter fraud, and an organization which obviously should be investigated for tax fraud and much, much more. Those seven senators?

* Dick Durbin (D-IL)
* Roland Burris (D-IL)
* Robert Casey (D-PA)
* Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)
* Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
* Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
* Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

One of them is mine. How positively lovely. Another is named “Whitehouse.” How appropriate.

The second vote came yesterday in the House, which by a vote of 345-75 passed an amendment to the Student Aid and Fiscal Responsibility Act that would deny all federal funds to ACORN. The amendment, if I’m correct, was brought forth by House Minority Leader John Boehner. (Actually, it was Daniel Issa.) Here are the 75 who voted against it:

* Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)
* Xavier Becerra (D-CA)
* Bob Filner (D-CA)
* Mike Honda (D-CA)
* Barbara Lee (D-CA)
* Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
* Linda Sanchez (D-CA)
* Brad Sherman (D-CA)
* Pete Stark (D-CA)
* Maxine Waters (D-CA)
* Diane Watson (D-CA)
* Henry Waxman (D-CA)
* Lynn Woolsey (D-CA)
* Diana DeGette (D-CO)
* Jared Polis (D-CO)
* Corrine Brown (D-FL)
* Kathy Anne Castor (D-FL)
* Robert Wexler (D-FL)
* John Lewis (D-GA)
* David Scott (D-GA)
* Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
* Danny Davis (D-IL)
* Jesse Jackson, Jr. (D-IL)
* Bobby Rush (D-IL)
* Janice Schakowsky (D-IL)
* Andre Carson (D-IN)
* Elijah Cummings (D-MD)
* Donna Edwards (D-MD)
* Michael Capuano (D-MA)
* Bill Delahunt (D-MA)
* Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
* Ed Markey (D-MA)
* Jim McGovern (D-MA)
* Richard Neal (D-MA)
* John Olver (D-MA)
* Niki Tsongas (D-MA)
* Carolyn Kilpatrick (D-MI)
* Ralph Ellison (D-MN)
* Betty McCollum (D-MN)
* Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
* Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO)
* Rush Holt (D-NJ)
* Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ)
* Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ)
* Donald Payne (D-NJ)
* Albio Sires (D-NJ)
* Joseph Crowley (D-NY)
* Eliot Engel (D-NY)
* Maurice Hinchey (D-NY)
* Gregory Meeks (D-NY)
* Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
* Charlie Rangel (D-NY)
* Jose Serrano (D-NY)
* Louise Slaughter (D-NY)
* Edolphus Towns (D-NY)
* Nydia Velazquez (D-NY)
* G.K. Butterfield, Jr. (D-NC)
* David Price (D-NC)
* Marcia Fudge (D-OH)
* Dennis Kucinich (D-OH)
* Bob Brady (D-PA)
* Mike Doyle (D-PA)
* Chaka Fattah (D-PA)
* Jim Clyburn (D-SC)
* Al Green (D-TX)
* Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX)
* E.B. Johnson (D-TX)
* Jim Moran (D-VA)
* Bobby Scott (D-VA)
* Rick Larsen (D-WA)
* Jim McDermott (D-WA)
* Alan Mollohan (D-WV)
* Nick Rahall (D-WV)
* Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
* Gwen Moore (D-WI)

A few things to point out: First, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi did not vote by tradition; Second, take a gander at the first letter after these 75 names, and consider which party tolerates–if not endorses–corruption and lawlessness in the name of social justice; Third, keep in mind that the ACORN-related measure was an amendment on a much bigger bill, so many of these people could be otherwise committed to a vote on the Student Loan legislation.

Of course, that shouldn’t be too much consolation. Unfortunately, the Student Aid and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 2009 also essentially nationalized the student loan industry — but that’s a matter for another time and place.

Bookmark and Share


Click the Picture to help “TAKE MICHIGAN BACK”


Household Cap-and-Trade Burden Calculator

Tea Party Tweets